Switching from a 6 string to a 7 string

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by xXStanXx, Feb 23, 2015.

1. xXStanXx

xXStanXx Member

Hey everyone. This summer I'll be ordering a new guitar from Carvin (a Vader headless of some description) and I'd love to get a 7 string but I'm not really sure if I'm ready for it. I've been playing for just about 2 years now and technique wise I'd say I'm doing pretty good for the year and a half mark (getting some good picking speed, getting some better dexterity in my neglected left hand, still working on getting pull offs up to any appreciable speed without sounding messy) and theory wise I'm improving daily (have the major and pentatonic scales down, have a fairly basic grasp of modes, starting to work on my own riffs, still working on improv, getting better at figuring out songs on my own). There's some music in my collection that I could play that could use a 7 string (or a very down tuned 6) which is why I'd consider getting a 7 string (and I'd love to be able to mess with some lower tunings without the inconvenience of having to retune a 6 string all the time). I guess my question is for those of you that have made the switch was it as hard as you thought it would be or is is something that comes fairly naturally once you get used to having a 7th string around? Do you think I would benefit with some more time spent with a 6 string before making the switch? Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

2. Motterpaul

Motterpaul Tone is in the Ears

I think it would not make much difference. My understanding is that most 7-string players merely do it to add a low B string. So, all it will do is extend your playing range but it won't really change anything you have been concentrating on learning so far.

Personally, I would spend the money elsewhere - wherever that may be.

3. Jim Soloway

Jim Soloway Supporting Member