Talk me out of (or into!) buying another one!

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by ndnikola, Jan 26, 2012.

1. ndnikola

ndnikola Member

This is the first thread I have ever started here, so please be gentle !

I am a part time session musician (have a full time day job), playing with a couple of pop artists/bands of the brit-pop variety. I cover anything from early beatles to kaiser chiefs to even some u2 as well as some american modern alternative stuff as well. We gig twice a month on average, and I have also recently started doing studio work in upcoming albums).I also play in a band that has its own original material, of textural/post rock/jazz/soundtrack influences. On my own (at home), I practice on blues/jazz standards, but also experiment with 'textural' playing through wobbly delays, using the ebow and what you could call 'dream pop' stuff. I have also started playing the theremin (ok, this is a separate issue :) ).

So far I have spent good money in the gear that I own and use, which includes the following:

Haar Custom 60's Telecaster (peter florance voodoo pickups)
    Gibson ES335 plain cherry (classic 57's)
    Taylor 616ce

Amp is a 20 W Koch Studiotone that has worked very well on its own (in gigs where there is just me and a keyboard player) and with the following pedal chain:

modded crybaby->fuzz factory->ctc ziggy overdrive->bearfoot DRD->custom audio mc 401->lovepedal babyface->malekko vibrato->malekko chicklet->eventide timefactor->polytune->line6 m9 (sometimes)

Even though the above gear takes me most places I need/want to go, i feel sometimes that maybe another guitar would provide me with more ground to cover. Of course, I don't want to end up with too many electrics, so I really want to think this through, as I feel a certain level of serenity with having few-but-good guitars.

-A les paul could be that guitar, although I have a feeling that I can cover most of its ground with the ES335