Talk to me about keyboard synths?

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by Brroger, May 3, 2016.

1. Brroger

Brroger Silver Supporting Member

Maybe the wrong board for this sort of thing, but does anyone have experience with basic but solid keyboard synthesizers? I'm a guitarist, but want one to start making some demos and working out song arrangements.

I don't need anything fancy, at all. But do want to be able to link straight into a Mac, and do some basic tone shaping. Drum functions would be great too.

Any advice?

2. Imerkat

Imerkat Supporting Member

Well, first there are keyboards then there are Synths. not sure if you want to learn how to play keys or make your own synth tones or what exactly you want to plug into in your Mac.

To many unknowns but since you said you are a guitarist you should look into Guitar Synthesizers.

3. Astronaut FX

Astronaut FX Member

Are you looking for an actual synthesizer, or just a keyboard/MIDI controller that doesn't make any sounds itself, but interfaces with a computer to play virtual instruments?

If a synthesizer, then you have more questions to answer? How many voices (mono vs polyphonic), analog or digital, what's your budget?

4. AZG

AZG Supporting Member

I have a cheap ($200) 25 key USB/MIDI controller for the purposes you state. Most DAW including Garageband and Logic Pro X come with tons of synth, keyboard and other tones built-in ready for use with your USB/MIDI controller. Plus there are tons of free and paid plug-ins to add to your tone options.

5. CharAznable

CharAznable Member

Agreed, get a MIDI controller and hook it up to your computer and use the VST's that come in your DAW.

There's plenty in there that you can use before you need to start spending actual money.

6. erniecaster

erniecaster Member

Hi,

try a Yamaha MX49. I was looking for exactly the same thing and this was the winner.

cu

erniecaster

7. phil_m

phil_m Supporting Member