Talk To Me About Shuguang Tubes

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by ausguitarman, Aug 9, 2006.

1. ausguitarman

ausguitarman Member

I'm looking to try some new production tubes for my Miniplex.

I hear different things about these tubes but would like to try their 6550's and a few of their other tubes in my other amps (EL-84's and 12AX7's).

I've got some NOS tubes but I think at 12 watts running cranked I'm going to eat up power tubes.

If you've used them let me know your thoughts.

2. PaulM

PaulM Member

I've used their KT66's and KT88's extensively and like them both. I especially like their KT66. I have no experience with any of their preamp tubes.

3. phoenix 7

phoenix 7 Silver Supporting Member

I've used Shuguang 12AX7's in my Shiva with pretty good results. Bogner actually recommends Chinese AX7's (like Shuguangs) for the Shiva.

4. Guinness Lad

Guinness Lad Silver Supporting Member

The 12ax7's from Shugnang are what came in my Guytron. The tube has good output and seems very linear across the eq band. Some tubes Eh for example have a very noticable eq curve (Eh's kind of remind me of V30 speakers, lots of upper mids) the Shugnang's do not. The are perhaps a little darker then most tubes, in a way they king of remind of the Sovtek LPS, but the LPS can be a little bright in the highs (reminds me of a classic lead 80 speaker). Overall, they are great tubes, but personally I use a mixture because no one tube seems to do it all.

5. conundrum

conundrum Member

12AX7's - very consistent, a little dark, a little boring sounding, good stock tube
    KT66's- Excellent tube, best sounding new production KT66, low life
    EL34B- Excellent tube, very nice breakup, little loose on the low end.
    6L6GC - I prefer them over Russian 6L6's, not too harsh on the highs, a bit fragile though

6. uncle looie

uncle looie Member