1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Talk to Me About Volume Pedals

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by ausguitarman, Jul 8, 2006.

1. ausguitarman

ausguitarman Member

I've never used one before and I'm looking to add one to my rig.

I was hoping that these act like rolling off the guitar volume.

I've never been good at rolling the volume off mid song but can work a pedal just fine.

Maybe a dumb question but I've never had the need before so I've never really looked into it.

Any thoughts would e appreciated.:AOK

2. DaveG

DaveG Gold Supporting Member

I've been using an Ernie Ball Jr. for about 6 months, it's been working out well. It's built like a tank, very solid, and the "tuner out" is handy. If you run it at the front of your chain, it will work much like your guitar volume (not exactly, but close). I run mine second to last, just before my delay; it seems to have less effect on my od/dist there, and just boosts or cuts my "overall" sound.

3. Dave Orban

Dave Orban Gold Supporting Member

I use a full-size Ernie Ball a lot, with my '53 175. I love it. It does exactly what you want it to.

That said, mine just crapped-out, and I have to replace the pot. I bought mine used, and I'm not sure what the life expectancy is on these puppies.

I'm also thinking about getting a Goodrich volume pedal. A lot of folks on the board rave about them.

4. nashvillesteve

nashvillesteve Member

I notice you have a few amps, there. If you're running anything in stereo, you might want to check out the Gig-FX Mega Wah that I'm interested in.

http://www.gig-fx.com

It functions as a wah, volume and envelope filter and runs in stereo, nifty on many fronts.

5. Grant Ferstat

Grant Ferstat Some guy in obscure bands in a far away place... Silver Supporting Member

In the past I've had Ernie Balls but this time around I was looking at an L120 Goodrich.