Tax Writeoffs

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by tcmono, Feb 27, 2012.

1. tcmono

tcmono Member

So I've been a gigging musicians for many years, and I've never tried to write anything off before. I started up a new band last year and bought a bunch of new gear. We gigged some and made a relatively small amount of money. I'd like to write off the gear I bought as a business expense, and Turbo-Tax doesn't seem to have a problem with it. Anybody else write off their gear as a business expense as a semi-pro (gig 24 times per year)?

2. Omega

Omega Member

It is a legitimate business expense. FYI if you sell it, you will need to figure gain/loss.

3. EricPeterson

EricPeterson Member

Are you claiming the gigging money as income?

4. tcmono

tcmono Member

Yes I am claiming the income. For 2011, the expense was a lot more than the income.

5. EricPeterson

EricPeterson Member

Then I think you can write it off as a business expense (but I am not a tax attorney), I would caution that it will likely raise a red flag for auditing purposes so you will have to determine if the write off is worth the risk of an audit.

6. tcmono

tcmono Member

Thanks for all the input - and - just to make everyone more comfortable - I'm not seeking tax advise as much as seeking input on what others do.

7. sws1

sws1 Member

You probably can't write it off in 1 year, since it's not really an expense...it's a capital outlay. Hence, you write some off each year for 5, 7, 10, 15, 27 or 30 years, depending on what you buy.

8. guitaristanyc

guitaristanyc Senior Member

I file as a musician and write off all gear purchases (which often gets me some nice returns). I was audited once, but just sent in copies of all my receipts and the IRS left me alone. You should go see an accountant - and not TGP members - if you have questions. :)

9. Jason UP

Jason UP Supporting Member