TC Electronic Switches Still Suck

DR5Guy

The switch of my TCE Spark Mini failed today. I had some reservations reading other people comments about how unreliable TCE switches are, but now am convinced all such reports are not exaggerated. My pedal had probably less than 1000 cycles of use for the switch. Few months ago it become erratic to finally fail completely today.

After opening the case I found a $0.40 PCB mounted tactile switch under the actuator. It just blows my mind a company as reputable as TC would use such a crappy component. I am not an expert, but it seems the pedal was designed in a way to be not reparable.

WillLane

Try some contact cleaner. If you can remove the washers around the switch you may be able to get some of the cleaner into the switch housing and maybe save your pedal. :aok

I just recently started using a Spark Booster fullsize and have not had any problems. But I have had dodgy switches on both an EHX Soulfood and a Hotone Liftup, and contact cleaner saved both of them.

Jhuttyhut

Not saying that you and others aren't experiencing these issues, but I must chime in to say that I've owned 9 different TC pedals, including the Spark mini, and never had a single issue with any of the footswitches. I gig regularly, so they see plenty of use. Just presenting the other side.

ED_P

Silver Supporting Member
I wonder if it's bad batches of the switch vs the design being bad.

TheoDog

Silver Supporting Member
The OP reported he had "less than 1000" cycles. So thebpedal hase been on and off less than twice a day for a year.
We also have no way to know how old the pedal is. It could have been build during the span that TCE actually had lots of reports of Switch issues (mostly focused on the polytunes). This spark mini might be from then and just say unsold for a long periods of time.