1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Teaching guitar

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by authen, Feb 14, 2009.

1. authen

authen Member

I am a very visible guitar player at my church. Many, many parents come up to me and ask if I give lessons. There's really no reason why I shouldn't. I've been playing for many years and know my way around a guitar and music well enough to teach - (I'm a full time music director at my church). I'm looking for resources and advice to get started. We're talking beginning guitar.

Any help?

2. arthur rotfeld

arthur rotfeld Member

Maybe take some lessons from the best teacher in your area to learn their methods for handling rank beginners. Most kids have no previous experience, so that's key.

Be prepared for everything. Today I.....

1. Sightread and taught Emily Remler's solo arrangement of "How Insensative" to an experienced adult.
    2. Taught a page from a Guitar Method, book 2, and "Crazy Train" with a kid.
    3. Transcribed a Bon Iver song for teen and went over details about bar chords.
    4. Taught an adult how to adjust action and intonation, then the intro for "Call of Ktulu" and some work on "Johnny B. Goode" too.
    5. Put some finishing touches on a student's performance of "You Shook Me All Night Long" solo, particularly accurate bends and vibrato.

That's typical. I enjoy the range of my daily events.

3. mr.supro

mr.supro Member

Read Zen Guitar by Philip Toshio Sudo and teach what you know from an authentic place.
    Students will go where you lead them and they'll tell you where to
    take them if you listen closely enough. There are seemingly infinite guitar methods out
    there if you want to teach from a book. Chances are though, people are asking you
    because they want your personal take on it. It's a great, honest, and rewarding way to