technical players - what design elements are essential for entry level shredder?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Deed_Poll, Feb 11, 2015.

1. Deed_Poll

Deed_Poll Member

I'm new to the shred thing having been a vintage / alternative / jazz type player for a long time. As such I've always preferred narrower, deeper necks in more of the C to soft V range, with more taper in the back depth. Generally speaking I get on better with single coils than with HBs and favour lower output pickups of both kinds. I usually prefer HBs when they're on Gibson scale necks.

I'm looking to buy or build a technical / shredder guitar with Floyd Rose vibrato an HH pickup configuration.

For you guys out there who have made the same change, which parts of the formula are essential in your opinion? Is having the 25-1/2" scale a necessity, for instance? High output pickups? And should the guitar have a skinny and/or flat backed neck shape?

I will be more than happy to get a bit out of my "comfort zone" if it will encourage me to play with a more classical grip, or use the guitar in sonically different ways.

At the moment I'm thinking about getting a MIM Charvel San Dimas, switch out the pickups for bare knuckle "black hawks" and install a push / pull to split the coils.

2. cardinal

cardinal Member

The only spec that's really necessary IMHO is a flatter radius. I find it hard to shred when the neck has a tighter radius. I think because to avoid bends that fret out on the higher frets, you need more relief and higher action with a vintage radius neck.

The rest is personal preference.

3. s2y

s2y Member

I don't think scale length has much impact. My lowest action guitar is 24.75".

A lot of shredders start using a somewhat classical inspired left hand technique. With your thumb behind the neck, the shape and thickness isn't as critical.

Agreed.

4. GtrWiz

GtrWiz Member