Tele pick up recommendations?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Notwerk, Mar 5, 2006.

1. Notwerk

Notwerk Member

Hi, newbie here. Picked up a MIM Tele and really like it, but was thinking about switching the pickups for the following reasons:

I like the warm sound of the neck pick up, but I wish it had a touch more clarity. Opposite with the bridge, I like the brightness, but sometimes it's too much. I guess it's a bit "ickpicky." Wish I could roll back the trebs a notch or two and have a bit more midrange. Basically, a bit better balance.

Overall, I still like the sound. It has a lot of character. But I'm looking to get a bit closer to the ideal. :)

I play mostly rock (no country).

Which pickup do you guys think fits the bill?

I've been looking at Rio Grande (Tall Boy?), the Fender CS Nocasters and some others.

2. derek_32999

derek_32999 Member

GVCG lollar alnico 3's nail the tone you speak of (or so I hear) but they are $250 for a set.....:eek:

3. Notwerk

Notwerk Member

LOL. I think the Lollars might cost more than my guitar! Thanks for the suggestion, though.

4. Barge Concepts

Barge Concepts Member

If you want custom pickups, and are willing and able to afford it - try Steve Kersting. He's always the first on to admit that his pickups are pricey - and he's right - but IMO they are worth the money. Great product, great guy to deal with, and a no hassle exchange/refund/rewind policy. He'll also take trades as part of the payment.

Staying handwound, but on the cheaper end of the spectrum, try Dirty Dog Pickups/ House of Wayward Guitars. I haven't try this guy out yet, but I've heard nothing but good things. Do a search on ebay - he's been running specials on hand wound pups, cheaper than what's listed on his page.

And, the dirt cheap option - GFS. Not up to the quality standards of the handwound/boutique market, but LOW prices, good customer service, and a good product for the money. Lots of options here.