• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Tell Me About 1971 Ibanez Les Paul Goldtops....

the tourist

So I had my 50th Anniversary Jaguar on CL to help fund a new amp purchase (Bad Cat Cub III 15 Head) and I was going to accept a partial trade of a MIM Telecaster, but I got an offer with half the cash I was asking plus a 1971 Ibanez Les Paul Goldtop with original HSC. I don't know anything at all about Ibanez, and I'm waiting on pictures of the guitar (the offer was literally just made), but I was wondering what the value would be on the guitar if it was in good condition. Would it be worth roughly $600?

Thanks in advance and I'll post pics when I get them!

Tom CT

Old Supporting Member
Platinum Supporting Member
Probably not the best era for Ibanez. Neck bolted onto a skinny body? $600 seems optimistic, but I'm not an expert.

tim gueguen

Yeah, the early stuff is going to be pretty crude, and probably not worth 600 bucks. If it actually is a '71 it will likely have a bolt on neck with body end of the fretboard having rounded corners, and the pickups may be cheap single coils under a humbucker style cover. The top will probably be laminated instead of solid, and there might be an air gap.

chucke99

You really have to nail down the manufacture date for Ibanez copies. Ones made in the very early 1970s (71-72) are the lowest quality (but not horrible). Come 1973-75, the pickups were Maxons and the quality of the neck and body increased considerably. After the appearance of serial numbers (August, 1975) and especially when they dropped using the open book headstocks (1976) quality was very high, and $600 is actually a great price for one, even though it's a bolt-neck.