Tell me about the Rickenbacker 381v69

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Mejis, May 14, 2020.

1. Mejis

Mejis Member

I’ve had mild GAS for one of these for quite awhile, but it’s escalating to the point where I’m semi-serious about ordering one.

I think it’s one of the coolest looking guitars out there, and I owned a 360 many years ago so I have some experience with the Ric feel and vibe. Is the 381 a different beast than the 360? Here are a few other questions:

- How noisy are the pickups in general (Toaster & High Gain)? I tend to play loud with a fair bit of drive, and my amp has a bit of a noise floor (Komet Concorde). I’m fine with a Strat but P90s hum a bit much for me. I just can’t remember how the Ric did cranked up.

- Also related to noise; is the 381 prone to squealing microphonics at volume? I’m a huge fan of the good kind of controlled feedback, but that high pitched squeal is awful.

- Would you get the 6 or the 12? I only play a 12 string once in a blue moon... so I’d probably have the 12 strung as a 6. I’m thinking maybe the option is good though?

I play mostly pop and 90’s style alt rock (Smashing Pumpkins, Placebo, Silverchair), and punk/emo like Brand New, Saves the Day, and Jimmy Eat World. Drop D is about as heavy as I go for the most part.

381 pics are of course welcome and encouraged to fuel the GAS further. Thanks!

RICFREAK likes this.
  2. RICFREAK

RICFREAK Member

Here.... you asked for it :p
    [​IMG]
    I think the 381V69 is one of the most beautiful instrument RIC makes.

3. Mejis

Mejis Member

Man, I thought I was torn between fireglo and mapleglo, but that blue is sweet! Thanks for sharing!

4. Lemonhand

Lemonhand Member