Tell me about US Masters

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by TaylorPlayer, Jan 25, 2008.

1. TaylorPlayer

TaylorPlayer Member

Hi... Newbie here. I've been playing acoustic guitar for over 30 years. Recently I traded a nice acoustic and great acoustic amp for a US Masters Sportster Skinny made by US Masters. I have to admit, I don't know much about electric guitars, but I did what research I could find and feel that this is a very nicely built guitar with excellent quality materials. The neck alone sold me on it. It has some propritory finish that makes it feel as if there is no finish on the neck, just real nice wood feel. I want to learn some blues riffs and take myself back to the 60's and 70's to play some of my old classic rock favorites. Not knowing much, will this kind of setup allow me to get the tones I am looking for? Currently I don't have a tube amp, but hope to get a small one soon. For now, I am using my little Roland MicroCube and a Genz Benz Shenandoah 200 Watt acoustic amp (think mini PA system) combined with a Dod FX-7 multi effects box.

What is your opinion on US Masters guitars?

Here are some photos:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Lex Luthier

Lex Luthier Member

They manufacture a quality instrument. They seem to sell at very reasonable prices used, good for the budget minded musician who can't afford boutique stuff.

3. Gigbag

Gigbag Member

I have a few of their instruments (LeGrande, Sportster Skinny, 5 string Bass) and an amp. I live near the factory so it can be dangerous to the wallet.

You can call and talk to the owners/builders (Dick and Dave) directly, and buy through dealers and direct (for now). Many of their features are subtle, but they add up to making a great instrument.

They have a new line of instruments that are being made in China, along with their amps. The import thing is new to them as of late last year. They are good instruments for the money.