tell me i'm not hopeless (travis picking, etc)

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by yellowecho, Jul 29, 2008.

1. yellowecho

yellowecho Member

I can't seem to get comfortable with fingerpicking (Travis and the like).
    I'd really like to play more delta blues-type stuff, but I can't seem to separate my bass and melody lines and do so with speed.

Is it one of those practices where you start really really slow and work up the speed? I started practicing yesterday by working on Dear Prudence, but I'm still sloppy. I think I'm just being inpatient.

2. Ooogie

Ooogie Member

Thumb independence takes time and it is just a matter of practice but there are some exercises that help. There is some good instructional material out there though, here are a couple I think are good...they start off really basic but cover pretty much everything.

Fingerstyle Blues Handbook - This covers the steady bass style (check out the free samples by clicking the See This Now link). There are quite a few samples to get you started...

http://truefire.com/fsbhandbook/handbook.html

Fingerstyle Blues Handbook 2 - This is the second part and moves on into the alternating bass style...

http://truefire.com/handbook2/handbook2.html

Homespun also has a good DVD with Happy Traum...

-Mark

3. OlAndrew

OlAndrew Member

Not hopeless, just takes a lot of time playing it. Just do something slow and easy, and keep at it until it feels easy, then start adding little things. There's a lot of easy stuff you can do in E minor or A minor. Maybe listen to some early John Fahey for ideas, but mostly just sit back and play around with it. Takes awhile, just take it easy and keep at it.

How I did it, (to the extent that I did)

4. Stringmaster

Stringmaster Gold Supporting Member