The Jazzmaster wasn't for me.

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by scott757, Sep 3, 2008.

1. scott757

scott757 Supporting Member

I got a Classic Players Jazzmaster on Sat. But once I got it home and played it through my gear, it really didn't do it for me. So I went back to GC tonight. I played a lot of guitars. I decided to go with a Highway 1 Tele. Being as I got home at 10, I've only been able to play it through my small practice amp. But I think it's going to be a much better fit for the sounds in my head. :JAM

2. TheLemon

TheLemon Senior Member

Hm what didnt you like about it exactly? Ive been looking to play one, but Ive never seen one at the Guitar Centers down here.

3. scott757

The bridge p/u had no bass response. I'm not sure why I didn't notice that at the store. But when I got it home, it was very noticeable.

4. BryanMatthews

BryanMatthews Member

definitely a love it or hate it guitar , they do absolutely nothing for me whatsoever neither tonally or visually.

ymmv

5. Gas-man

Gas-man Unrepentant Massaganist

I recently got one too. I like it quite a bit but I'm unsure about the bridge pup too. Might go the Lollar route some day.

But damn the thing plays nice and I love the trem on them things!

Plus it's not a Tele or a Strat!

6. enocaster

enocaster Member

Can anyone compare these to MIJ, CIJ, or USA models? Not necessarily specs, but overall feel, solidity, resonance, etc. …

7. stratzrus

stratzrus Philadelphia Jazz, Funk, and R&B Supporting Member

To me, that is the only thing it has going for itself, and since I love Tele's and Strats...

It's just not my cup of tea, but many enjoy playing them...it's just a matter of personal taste.

8. seiko

seiko Member

They tend to sound very different through different amps....

9. straightblues

straightblues Member