The PRS Custom 24

Great Guitar or Greatest Guitar?

• Great Guitar

• Greatest Guitar

Results are only viewable after voting.

sting729

I do not mean this to be a slam against PRS's but I bought my 20th Anniversary edition Custom 24 in 2005--I have been playing for over 45 years and the CU 24 is probably the easiest guitar to play I have ever owned and the build quality is superb--- but I just can't get the tone I want out of it no matter what amps, effects, strings etc etc I try, it just always sounds so "thin". I would probably sell it if the resale market on them wasn't so bad.

THebert

Gold Supporting Member
I had to vote great because I like some others as well. The cu24 is one of my favorites, though, for sure. I love the regular neck carve. I also like how the neck pickup is closer to the bridge (though most do not like that about the cu24).

I do not mean this to be a slam against PRS's but I bought my 20th Anniversary edition Custom 24 in 2005--I have been playing for over 45 years and the CU 24 is probably the easiest guitar to play I have ever owned and the build quality is superb--- but I just can't get the tone I want out of it no matter what amps, effects, strings etc etc I try, it just always sounds so "thin". I would probably sell it if the resale market on them wasn't so bad.
i replaced the pickups. just couldn't get with the Vintage Bass and HFS. now it has Dimarzio Virtual PAFs, as suggested by fellow forumite Shovelhead.

it went from "great guitar" to "greatest guitar".

Butterfly

Platinum Supporting Member
I voted great. For some reason the difference between 22 and 24 frets does not really effect me the way scale length does for example.

sting729

i replaced the pickups. just couldn't get with the Vintage Bass and HFS. now it has Dimarzio Virtual PAFs, as suggested by fellow forumite Shovelhead.

it went from "great guitar" to "greatest guitar".