• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

The Tele quest begins

adnan76

I've been playing a Les Paul for the past 18 months (basically my entire guitar playing life) and I think I want to add a Telecaster. I've played a few and am looking for some advice.

I probably will buy used and don't want to spend over $600... what are my best options? I've seen some used American ones (on this site) for around that price, and also a Baja, and some Highway series. Thoughts?

Also a question about frets: I played a MIM tele in the store (around $650) with really small frets- is this was Fender calls "vintage frets"? Felt comfortable on slides, but a little tougher on bends. What are the advantages of smaller frets?

Any thoughts, advice, and opinions would be appreciated!
thanks in advance!

sinner

Only 18 months and already decided on a Tele? You're way ahead of the curve, very smart decision!

I'd look at those new Fender MIM Roadworn Teles, I've heard many get a $750 deal. They have modern radius specs (9.5") bend easier and play & sound great! Go to the store, get all they have in stock, play them all and choice the one that you like best.

Now if you could get more of a budget...Danocaster!

cheetah77

Only 18 months and already decided on a Tele? You're way ahead of the curve, very smart decision!