Thin Lizzy - Where Have I Been?

News to none but me: Thin Lizzy is sick!

I was a mechanic at a small indie shop for about ten years and had the local classic rock station beat me over the head with 1 Thin Lizzy song, 5 AC/DC songs, 5 Zeppelin songs, 2 Sabbath songs, etc for those ten years and subsequently totally ruled out ever listening to those bands by my own choice.

Somehow, five years since stepping foot in that shop, and five years since listening to that radio station, I had The Boys Are Back In Town stuck in my head, went to listen to it, and found that the song is actually super awesome and a total crusher! I feel like an idiot! Just dove into their catalog and it's so dang good!

Also, I realized listening to them that I actually do like the sound of a Les Paul through a cranked Marshall and I just thought I didn't (why???). Between this and some of Lindsey Buckingham's lead tones, I can't keep denying the truth. I'm doomed!

:phones
:beer

crifasta

Gold Supporting Member
Loved Lizzy in my formative years and when I rediscover them every so often, I realize all over again how great they were.

adolan

Silver Supporting Member
Love Thin Lizzy, when i was a kid growing up on Queen Kiss Zep etc my moms friends from Ireland (i moved from there when i was 5) used to ask why i didnt listen to Thin Lizzy, as an 8 yr old i guess that name bugged me out, so it took till my teens to get into them but once i did man...I personally like all of it but its 3 diff eras, 1st 3 Lps with Eric Bell, those are my faves for diff reasons, then the Nightlife LP which i know ppl say this or that about it but i love that LP and then on to Gorham and Robertson and then the Later stuff which i like a lot of but not as much as the first two eras but still love it when i'm in the mood for it..Hapy Trails to you! i wish i was just discovering them :)

paulbearer

not my ticket, but "was there". Bawstin' Gaahden.
Thin Lizzy opened. My Mind opened, and never closed.

1977-02-09.jpg