Thinking about a Ceriatone TMB + ef86

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Gasp100, Feb 22, 2009.

1. Gasp100

Gasp100 Supporting Member

Anyone own one of these? Nik's reputation and designs are well regarded and the prices seem pretty sweet. I am a novice tweaker/solder-er (and I have two small kids with another on the way
    :BOUNCE
    so time is more important than money at this juncture. I like the idea of the 18 watt TMB + ef86 in theory, but I wonder how close it really gets to a great Marshall 18 watter AND an ef86 Voxey vibe.
    A MV is essential, I guess this does have one but only on the Marshall TMB side? Does it sound good at basement/bedroom levels?
    How about the ef86 side? I love that tube, but I don't trust it much lol!
    I guess "I want it all" as they say in High School Musical 3"! So, once I count up the full build + head cab <never will I get a combo with an ef86> + shipping (any idea of shipping costs?) it starts to get a little pricey.
    BUT, the only amp that seems to come close to this is the Gabriel Voxer which is WAY out of my price range.
    Is the ef86 side even useable for home use (edge of breakup tones) without the MV? Thanks for any insight!
    NOTE: what the heck is the Klein-ulator? Is that an attenuator or outboard FX loop? (both of which I might need)?

2. Gasp100

Wow, no one? I KNOW there are Ceriatone 18 watt, TMB owners out there... speak up! Especially if you've got the ef86 channel.
    Anyone have the Lead / Bass 20? It looks cools and simple. Two discreet channels, Volume / Tone on each. Are they both useable? Is this useable a sane volumes? C'mon, someone sell me on Ceriatone!

3. Bloozcat

Bloozcat Member

You might try posting your question at the Ceriatone forum:
    http://www.ceriatoneforum.com/

I'd be curious to hear the feedback as well. I'm considering the same amp later in the year.

4. xcycle

xcycle Member