Thinking about getting a PRS Hollowbody II...Any experience out there?

skhan007

I played one owned by a friend a while back and really liked it a lot. He was a jazz guitarist and I'm a rock guitarist interested in learning jazz. This seems like a good "in between" guitar for rock and jazz from what I can tell.

I really like the models with the piezo system. I'm noting some models say "Archtop" on the truss and others are designated as "McCarty." I really can't find any info that explains differences (if any). Anybody know?

Also, does anyone NOT like these models for any reason? Curious what owners and previous owners think of these models. Thanks in advance.

jazzrat

I had one. Gorgeous guitar. Mine did not have the peizo. I bought it for jazz tones which it can do just don't expect it to sound like a 335. The HBII has it's own thing going on.
I'm not a PRS expert but I think the Archtop is a particular model distinct from the HB I and HBII which say McCarty on the TR cover.

Fred132

I've got a singlecut HB II and love it.

Seems like you could use it for just about anything. I even saw a guy playing one in a bluegrass band.

Mark Ray

The RockTrain
Platinum Supporting Member
The Archtop had a deeper body (front to back) than the Hollowbody. All great guitars-I'd still like to get one sometime, although for my use the P22 would be a better choice.

59Bassman

Plank Cranker
Gold Supporting Member
Another way to test the waters would be with one of the import SE models. I've played a pile of the SE semihollows, both with P-90's and with humbuckers. I like the P-90 models a bit more, although they're not made anymore. Also, this year PRS came out with a new Zach Myers sig model that's a semihollow singlecut. Worth a look.