Thinking of buying a Boss RE-20 Space Echo. Pros and Cons? Alternatives?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by dorfmeister, Feb 13, 2008.

Would you buy a Boss RE-20?

1. I would buy an RE-20.

2. I would not buy an RE-20.

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. dorfmeister

dorfmeister Member

I'm thinking of going to Guitar Center on Saturday to buy a Boss RE-20.

I'm a guitarist who is into experimental, post-rockish, fusiony, post-punk, and ambient sounds.

I am thinking this pedal will be a good match and inspirational to my playing.

What are some arguments for and against this pedal.

What else might you recommend?

2. mad dog

mad dog Silver Supporting Member

I almost did, then didn't. It didn't much impress me in the store, but I 've done this enough to know that means little. It was plugged into some crap amp I'd never use, along with a gazillion other pedals, in a noisy environment filled with distraction. My sense was that I'd get it home, figure it out better, and be very happy. It does have some of those odd ambient textures you don't generally find in pedals. for about 200 bucks used (that's how I'd do it), I think it's a worthy experiment.

The two main reasons I held off were:

1. I already have a very fine pedal for tape echo stuff, the H&K Replex. It's more echoplex like, doesn't do the multihead extremes and wacko stuff you could get out of a space echo. Bulky, but has that sound.

2. My curiosity about space echos was probably not going to be answered by the pedal. so I bit the bullet, went out and found an original RE-201. It's getting checked out and rebiased now. A most interesting device. The pedal might be far better live for various reasons, but the actual tape thing has some kind of unique mojo of its own.

3. dorfmeister

dorfmeister Member

If I go to guitar center how much under the $249 street price do you think I can get them to go?

4. dorfmeister

dorfmeister Member