Thinking of taking my guitar to Joe Glaser...

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by rubbersoul, Feb 3, 2012.

1. rubbersoul

rubbersoul Member

But I'm not a professional, I'm not even a gigging musician, and my guitar is nothing fancy. Do folks like Joe Glaser often work on such projects?

2. MrMunky

MrMunky Silver Supporting Member

Glaser and his crew have always been princes to deal with and they've treated me like a king.

And I am nobody special.

rugglesgreen likes this.
  3. rubbersoul

rubbersoul Member

That's good to hear. I feel fortunate to live near enough to him and my beloved #1 guitar is a '70's era Japanese LP copy badly in need of fretwork.

rugglesgreen likes this.
  4. DonP

DonP Member

I'm sort of the same way. I was thinking of having my CR8's neck shaved.

I work every other week down in LaVergne.

5. doc

doc Member

Joe's a great guy and does expert work. Sometimes turn around is very slow (at least for me) but he takes great care of your instrument just like all the big stars he works with. I'd also recommend Big Joe's Guitarworks as a quality alternative.

6. bizzwriter

bizzwriter Member

In my experience, guys at the level of Joe Glaser are happy to work on anyone's guitars. Your project might get pushed aside for a little bit if one of the pros they service has an urgent need, but you should expect to be welcomed. Paul Reed Smith used to work on my '65 Esquire when he was a guitar tech in Annapolis, as did Danny Gatton when he was at home in Maryland. In fact, Danny happily installed some extra '50s bridge saddles and a switch tip for no charge -- just because he thought my Esquire needed them. Scott Lentz (and now his son) has been my tech for the past 30 or so years. They are both great guys who do amazing work and are open to anyone who can find their shop. I've brought them all sorts of guitars over the years -- from truly great to utter crap -- and they're always happy to work on them.

7. dan7_69

dan7_69 Member