This is why I'll never spend more than $300 for an electric guitar

Okaaaaaay.........

With that much gain, just about any guitar will sound good. Especially cheap humbuckers with a lacking high end.

I had an ec256 that slayed under gain, but absolutely sucked clean.

But, a pickup swap and controls goes a long way these days.

I have plenty of 3 to 500 dollar guitars to prove it.

Yup, I see your point, OP. The amp, cabinet, speakers and what's in the signal chain is all critical and paramount to the end result. The guitar itself?...well, not so much. I've been subscribing to this view for many years.

I loved the sound of this guy's rig, whatever it was, and the fact that he was making it happen with a $150 Donner speaks volumes about folks being far too obsessed with the guitar. Videos like this make me chuckle when I think of all the players who say things like "I love how my guitar sounds" or "this guitar sounds great". Uhm, well, it's not really your guitar that you're hearing - it's the rig.

Last edited:
Yup, I see your point. The amp, cabinet, speakers and what's in the signal chain is all critical and paramount to the end result. The guitar itself?...well, not so much.
Except the guitar is what you, the musician, actually touches. Better guitars almost always feel better and play better. Of course, you hit the wall of diminishing returns at around $1,000 to $1,500 but no way will a $150 guitar feel as good as a $1,000 without major work. Factor in that cost.

Last edited:
We are all so different. For me, a guitar is something I connect to, and when the amp and the rest of the gear starts to homogenize the differences between guitars (and the players touch), I tend to either back of the gain or make it more simple otherwise.

But if a 150 dollar guitar makes a player that utilizes only a single channel amp, a guitar and his touch and dynamics to deliver the goods, then great. It's possible :) I don't personally go for such a spartan setup, but some do.