This may be a crazy idea, but will it work?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by webe123, May 25, 2008.

1. webe123

webe123 Member

OK, for years I have used various acoustic/electric guitars with mixed results in live church situations.

What I would LIKE to do is have some way of micing my acoustic guitar in a live situation WITHOUT having to rely on the sound guy or have to listen to my acoustic guitar through the monitors.

In other words, I would like to find a way to run a mic through my guitar amp so that I can control the volume of the acoustic guitar without relying on a inexperienced sound guy who may or may not (usually this is the case) turn me up in the monitors on stage so that I can hear my guitar well enough to play.

Why? Because I am not a professional musician and do not have professional sound men micing my guitar out. Therefore, my results have been mixed. Usually when I play or sing with the acoustic guitar miced with the soundmen in control, it simply sometimes is not loud enough or the sound guy is not paying attention, as he is sometimes looking at something else.

I also do not just play my acoustic guitar just for specials or an occasional song only, but sometimes I play it along with what the piano is playing as part of the regular service.

Up until now, I have always loved the mic'ed sound of an acoustic guitar, but never found a way to mic it live for just regular playing as a part of my rig, unless I just use an acoustic/electric guitar through my amp....but it simply does not have the same sound.

What I have come up with is this:
    1. use a Neumann KM 184 acoustic guitar mic and go XLR into a small preamp like the ART Tube MP.

2. Then go out of the ART tube MP 1/4 inch out (it has both 1/4 inch and XLR inputs and outputs)of the ART Tube MP and into my guitar amp.