Thornton #2 has arrived

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by Ches, Feb 11, 2012.

1. Ches

Ches Supporting Member

First of all, I can't believe I'm taking time away from playing to write this, so it'll be relatively short!

I've been GASing for a CP Thornton for a few years and a Legend Special was my first. It didn't take long for a second to find it's way through the door! I noticed this Legend on Chuck's website in the "For Sale" section. It was made in the last batch and I can't believe it was still available. It arrived yesterday and it went to practice with me last night.

[​IMG]

The build quality is exactly what you'd expect from Chuck. Absolutely top notch. I really like what he does to the neck - they just seem to fit my hand perfectly and I never get any hand fatigue no matter how long we play. The fret work is outstanding - just like glass.

The Marshallhead pickups are great. Big, fat low end without being boomy. Despite having balls like King Kong, there's great string clarity. I'm really digging these pickups. The bridge pickup is KILLER!

And, yes, how about that top? Schweet, eh? I hate to say it, but pictures don't do it justice. Even with no flash, it jumps right out at you. An amazing piece of wood, to say the least! The fretboard has some nice streaking in it - something I prefer that gives it a little more character.

Chuck has spoiled me beyond belief. Nothing else compares, but that's ok . . . I really don't want to play anything else!!!

Got to stop typing and start playing again!
    Ches

2. JohnnyK

JohnnyK Member

Congrats! I know of a couple of local players with "Chucks" and they love their guitars. Thorntons' shop is less than an hour from where I live, I really need to pay a visit.

3. Jim Fairbairn

Jim Fairbairn Member

Beautiful guitar. Enjoy!!

4. BluesLou

BluesLou Member

Congratulations, I know you are enjoying both of your Thorntons.
    I have several myself and once I got my first I never looked back.