Tim Shaw pickups?...Identification help please...:D

jasons7

Silver Supporting Member
I'm not a total expert but I can tell you what good clues I think I see on the OP's....

You would have to google the ink stamps but those are a positive indicator. Although, Shaws don't always have them. Mine don't.
On the underside where you have the second row of holes, you can see white which could indicate they have the white spacer Shaws have.
The guitar has the "Pat Appl For" rings that were paired with Shaws.
I believe the brass screws on the underside can be a Shaw indicator. I also believe their are variations here.

Other things you can look for...
Check them with a meter they should be in the mid to low 7k range
Look at the end of the leads where they are soldered to the pots in the control cavity. One will usually have a red ink mark the other a yellow ink mark on the end of the cloth covering the wire.
Pull the covers and look at the spacers and the magnets. Spacers are typically white. Magnets are rough on the ends, not smooth.

please could you share more about how you can tell?
Is this a Shaw?
What I'm not sure about yours is, the black goop around the perimeter of the inside of the cover. It looks potted or something? Shaws are un-potted. That or someone siliconed the covers on. Measure them with a meter

Thing about Shaws is, there are variations in the manufacturing so it takes some sleuth work to be 100% sure.

AdmiralB

What I'm not sure about yours is, the black goop around the perimeter of the inside of the cover.
That's not goop, it's the paper tape around the bobbins - they overlaid it on the bottom a bit (and must have had to scrape away to solder the covers).

OP, be careful what you wish for. I had a Heritage Series korina V with these, and I thought they were the weakest, blandest pickups I'd ever heard <shrugs>.

lemonman

Silver Supporting Member
please could you share more about how you can tell?
Is this a Shaw?