Time for a new Mac. What would you recommend?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by 1973Marshall, Apr 13, 2015.

1. 1973Marshall

1973Marshall Member

As a musician my Mac plays an integral role in my creative life. Whether I am using it for music production, film making, live performance and more, I live off of my now 5+ year old Macbook Pro 13.

My Mac was chugging along but recent upgrades to Mavericks (not a choice, needed it to work certain new software and plug-ins) has put it on its last legs. I've made every change possible but it might be time for an upgrade. If I go through one more freeze amid tracking guitar parts I am gonna lose my mind!

I've learned future proofing is key so here are my questions:
    1) Is it best to get a 15.4" model with Retina? It seems because of heat dispersion issues, a powerhouse QuadCore is cheaper on the 15" model.

2) Is this the best time in the Mac cycle? In other words, are the current models about to be phased out or are they pretty mid-cycle?

3) Which chipset? Does i5 2.2 GHz v i7 2.7 GHz chips make THAT much of a difference in rendering video or producing music?

4) Is it possible to just buy a 13" and call it a day or am I going to keep suffering issues when it comes to video. The price$$$$ of the 13 along with the smaller form factor are really sweet! But I don't want to keep going through the same issues. I am assuming an AIR is out of the question for real production work.

Are there other considerations? Any models you would recommend?

2. sanrico

sanrico Member

One consideration is to downgrade your OS to the original. Mavericks and Yosemite are notorious for slowing down computers that had otherwise been speeding along just fine.

My wife's iMac (late 2009) worked GREAT with Snow Leopard for her beefy Creative Suite design programs. A nice machine...I "upgraded" it to Mavericks and the damned thing turned into a 1970's Radio Shack TRS-80. It drives me crazy to use her computer now. Soooooo slooooooow.