timeline midi question about dmc3 & smartclock

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by cdhenson, Feb 18, 2015.

1. cdhenson

cdhenson Member

Hey guys - quick question related the timeline. I've got a DMC-3 and would also like to add a midi tap tempo (like a quartz or a smartclock). This is possible to run both the dmc3 and the smartclock/quartz together via MIDI, correct? I'm a midi NEWB.

2. thiscalltoarms

thiscalltoarms more gadgets than Batman. Gold Supporting Member

Yes. You'll need whats call a midi merger- there's basically two on the market- one that is a dual merge and one that is a quad merge, and you can find them for them below list price if you are careful in your search.

I use a Midi Solutions Quadro Merge which can combine 4 midi devices into one midi output. But you can could use a Midi Solutions Midi Merger which has the ability to combine 2 midi inputs to one output. Its the same size, but a bit cheaper, and the midi jacks are in a different orientation than the Quadro.

I am using a DMC3, SmartCLOCK, Musicom Labs MkIV, and a custom DMC2 gen2 to handle various aspects of my midi control currently.

Personally, I always recommend the Quadro. Better to have a few unused inputs than to need more and not have them.

http://www.midi-store.com/Midi-Solutions-Quadra-Merge-p/301500.htm

http://www.midi-store.com/Midi-Solutions-Merger-p/301499.htm

Last edited: Feb 18, 2015
  3. cdhenson

cdhenson Member

So the DMC & the Quartz can't be daisy chained together in the same midi loop? I thought that was the point of midi?

4. thiscalltoarms

thiscalltoarms more gadgets than Batman. Gold Supporting Member