1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Timmy - Reflections on a great pedal

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by theHoss, Sep 24, 2005.

1. theHoss

theHoss Member

Howdy,

I have had my timmy for several weeks now, and wanted to give myself some time to reflect on it. With the quality of work Paul does, he deserves the same quality in the review. There are three things I want to discuss, two of which have already been coverd on TGP so I will keep those short.

1) Gain - As paul describes it the Timmy is more of a power ampy grind. He is exactly right! If you are wanting preampy saturation look else where, but if you want very nice poweramp stage break up Timmy is you man. It can also be a very clean type boost.

2) EQ - The EQ capabilities are unique. Instead of adding in a traditional EQ, you are rolling off frequencies. I am not technical enough to know why this is the case (other than it makes all your controls behave the same way), but needless to say, the EQ in the Timmy is very well thought out.

3) Predictability - This is something that I haven't seen anyone else talk about. I thought I would add a bit on it. The Timmy is very predictable (this is a great thing). Becuase of its Transparency, quality controls, and EQ, the musician can envision the sound they want, then easily dial it in with the Timmy. In my experience with pedals, often it is the other way around. You play, then adjust, play adjust etc. With the Timmy, you can dial in the controls as you envision it, and there is the sound you imagined.

The timmy is very transparent (I know that is an Oximoron with pedals, but its true). The EQ does what you ask it to do, and nothing more, and the controls are tight and well crafted. All of this allows for a pedal to really extend your musical vision.