Tips on Improving Fingering Technique?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Lockjawpony, Feb 7, 2015.

1. Lockjawpony

Lockjawpony Member

So I've been playing guitar for 12 years, I have a really good background with jazz and music theory from playing trombone in high school and college, so I know what I'm supposed to be playing and have decent improvisational skills, but I keep running into difficulties in execution.

My main difficulty is with either picking too many strings or not muting the stings I don't want to hear well enough.

I always end up hearing unwanted strings ring or I don't hear the strings I want to because I'm accidentally muting them with my fat fingers. This is especially true when I play the B and high E strings.

I find it difficult to play on the high E string especially I think because I run out of room on the width of the fretboard, so I try to avoid playing it by playing lower strings higher on the neck.

And before anyone says the key is practice, I just remember what my jazz instructor used to tell us, which is, "Practice doesn't make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect." Which means practicing something the wrong way makes you really good at playing it the wrong way.

Being self taught I'm always trying to find the right way to practice.

Any tips will be most appreciated.

2. guitarjazz

guitarjazz Member

Patient scale and arpeggio work can iron that out. Don't go for speed. Go for control.

3. Clifford-D

Clifford-D Member

Hey Mr. Lockjaw, the question is how to keep strings quiet. It's an activity of both hands.

The picking hand's lower palm/heel is responsible for muting the bottom three strings and the fretting hand is responsible for muting the top three strings., more or less.