Tips on smoothing sharp fret ends.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by jockman, Feb 9, 2008.

1. jockman

jockman Member

Can anyone tell me how to smooth the fret ends on a guitar I just aquired, great guitar, frets in good condition, but the ends are pretty sharp and noticable when playing. I will add that I am a complete novice at this type of thing.
    Any help will be happily accepted.

Jon

2. Rosewood

Rosewood Member

I use a combination of a crowning file and a triangular file with the edges ground and polished to protect the fingerboard. You're probably not gonna have a crowning file but the triangular file will do. I would suggest practicing on a junk guitar before attempting the guitar in question. I start with the file parallel to the fret wrapping the file around the end as I go, one side then the other. Practice on another guitar to get a rythem down so all the frets look the same.

3. David Collins

David Collins Member

Leave them there - they serve as a good training tool to remind you when you're using an improper left hand grip. That and it's a built in meter to tell you when your guitar is too dry. :)

Really though, they need to be filed down. It's tot terribly difficult, but if you haven't done any work and don't have the tools, it could be the safer choice to take it in to a luthier. Many folks just file them down, depending on the board I often prefer to round and reshape the ends a bit as well. It's usually a very very cheap job.

4. jockman

jockman Member

Many thanks for the replies. I may just take it to someone who knows what they are doing, the guitar is a 'keeper' so I wouldn't want to mess u
    Jon

5. Luthierwnc

Luthierwnc Member