1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Titanium saddles?

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by CS'56, Sep 6, 2005.

1. CS'56

CS'56 Member

2. cuttooth21

cuttooth21 Member

I bought titanium saddles to help with string breakage, but it didn't help. I have a USA strat and I break the D string at least once a week. It might be the thick picks I use or the way I pick. I've been playing guitar for 20 years and been breaking the D string for the last 10-12 years.

3. KLB

KLB Member

Does the string break where it exits the bridge plate before passing over the saddle?

That is a sharp bend. The D string has a small core diameter, which makes it more sensitive to breaking there.

You can have a guitar tech bevel and sand the string exit holes on the bridge plate to get rid of the sharp angle. Or, you can slide a small piece of teflon wire insulation over the string and slide it down to cushion the string where it bends.

4. Zane

Zane Member

Lentz used them on his "S's" right before the end. I think he still does on the 2 L-90 guitars with the "S" type bridge. I've got them on my Lentz "S" & I've never broken a string.

5. cuttooth21

cuttooth21 Member

It seems to break where I'm picking.

6. cuttooth21

cuttooth21 Member

oops! sorry, didn't mean to highjack this thread. Not sure if that question was meant for me or not.:)

7. CS'56

CS'56 Member

My high E always breaks on the saddle. It's weird because the saddle looks great with no burs. I now have replaced the high E saddle with a graphtech. I would rather not have the graphtech on the guitar. That's why I'm thinking about Ti saddles.

8. Roe

Roe Member

the prices on titan guitar hardware varies a bit. people also think that detemple make titan parts, but they - as all the others - use kts parts.

9. Gordon

Gordon Silver Supporting Member

Hey Mark,