• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Titanium saddles?

cuttooth21

I bought titanium saddles to help with string breakage, but it didn't help. I have a USA strat and I break the D string at least once a week. It might be the thick picks I use or the way I pick. I've been playing guitar for 20 years and been breaking the D string for the last 10-12 years.

KLB

Does the string break where it exits the bridge plate before passing over the saddle?

That is a sharp bend. The D string has a small core diameter, which makes it more sensitive to breaking there.

You can have a guitar tech bevel and sand the string exit holes on the bridge plate to get rid of the sharp angle. Or, you can slide a small piece of teflon wire insulation over the string and slide it down to cushion the string where it bends.

Zane

Lentz used them on his "S's" right before the end. I think he still does on the 2 L-90 guitars with the "S" type bridge. I've got them on my Lentz "S" & I've never broken a string.

CS'56

My high E always breaks on the saddle. It's weird because the saddle looks great with no burs. I now have replaced the high E saddle with a graphtech. I would rather not have the graphtech on the guitar. That's why I'm thinking about Ti saddles.

Roe

the prices on titan guitar hardware varies a bit. people also think that detemple make titan parts, but they - as all the others - use kts parts.

Gordon

Silver Supporting Member
Hey Mark,