To mix or not to mix (G12H30's and G12T75's)...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Red_Label, Apr 6, 2008.

1. Red_Label

Red_Label Supporting Member

Hi all. Need some advice from someone who's maybe BTDT. I'm contemplating removing the 15 Ohm Celestion Rolla G12H30's my old Sunn 4X12 cab and mixing them in with my two Marshall JCM900 1960A and B cabs (loaded with 16 Ohm G1275T's of course). I'm thinking that maybe this will take the bright, brittle edge off of those cabs and smooth them out a bit. I've heard of this being done with Vintage 30 loaded cabs a lot, but I don't recall anyone mentioning mixing the H30's with the 75T's.

Background for those interested:

I've been playing in my current classic rock/country band for 10 years. I've been through many SS, modeling, and tube heads and combos over the years. For the past year I've been using a Traynor YCS100 100 watt tube head (EL34) into a 1960A cab. I'm as happy as I've ever been with my sound, though the H&K Triamp I used to run into my Sunn 4X12 wIas pretty good too. I need 100 watt heads for the clean headroom. We rarely mic my rig (unless at some outdoor gigs), so it's crucial that I get that amount of headroom for the country stuff.

Anyways... I wired my 1960A with 12 gauge wire when I got it last year(I was told that would smooth it out -- dunno if it makes a difference or not). This cab has been working for my gig pretty well. I get the bright cleans and gritty classic Marshall grind well enough. So last night I won an auction for a 1960B cab (will likely run then side-by-side instead of stacked. I plan to wire it up 12 gauge like my A cab. But I'm torn between leaving the speakers stock, or mixing them with the H30's to maybe smooth it out and take a hair of the brightness off the highs. Thus, my quandry.

Sorry for the long post, just wanted to give some background in case it has any sway on your advice. Thanks for taking the time to read and ponder... :)

2. rockon1

rockon1 Member