To the Edge of Breakup?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by vashondan, Apr 15, 2016.

1. vashondan

vashondan Supporting Member

Couldn't decide which was the most appropriate thread for this question so.....I'm fairly new to tube amps and pedals and still trying to figure some things out. For example...how does one set up an amp to make it just at the edge of breakup? Case in point, I have a Carvin Nomad that is loud and seems to have what i understand to be a lot of headroom. I've had a few different OD pedals with The Dude being the current choice. I bought the dude mostly because I love the sounds of Larry Carlton and Robben Ford. That Dumble thing! I get that from the pedal but can't figure out how to move to getting that kind of gritty overdrive. If I turn up the volume/level on the pedal or on the amp or both all I get is loud. What am I missing or is it more easily achieved with different kind of amps?

Thanks in advance for any insights.

2. fenderlead

fenderlead Member

I havn't used that amp, so I'm just giving some possibilities.

There are demos of the Carvin Nomad where they are getting drive with not much of a problem, so I don't know what problems you are having or the exact sound you are going for so it's hard to say much about it.

The Carvin Nomad seems quite capable of going from clean to overdriven sounds and breakup is just when the amp is slightly overdriven.

It might be an amp/speaker/guitar problem or a tube problem or just a dial in the sound problem.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2016
  3. thesauce

thesauce Member

I'm sorry but I just have to stop and applaud that gentleman in the video. Anyone with a hairstyle like that must have a wonderful sense of humor.

T Dizz likes this.
  4. fenderlead

fenderlead Member

Yeah, it's sort of a Rockabilly Beehive thing.

5. vashondan