To the OD Stackers: What sort of amp?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by freaksho, Jan 9, 2008.

1. freaksho

freaksho Member

i'm a bit new to OD pedal mania (tho i've taken to it like fish to water!) but i'm curious about the people who stack/combine multiple OD pedals:

do you use pedals for ALL your dirty tones? tube amp or SS? no amp gain for you at all? which amps?

(just curious)

2. teestone

teestone Mostly Regular Member Silver Supporting Member

I consider myself a stackaholic.....everything gets stacked at some point, not just dirt boxes!!

Personally, I have always preferred to use a clean amp as the starting point...in my case it's a Rivera S-120 all tube amp on the Fender based channel.

Once I have the crystal clear clean sound from the amp dialed in, I start setting all of my dirt pedals. I use the clean/boost function on my Pro Analog Dual Drive to goose the front end of the amp into the edge of breakup. For a medium overdrive, I use a Zendrive and for my lead tone I use a Mosferatu. The Dual Drive does a great job at pushing either the Zen or Mos into saturated ecstasy. It also gives me two levels of gain to mess with, just the clean/boost or the added distortion from the drive channel.

With just 3 pedals, I've got any number of different usable combos.

3. re-animator

re-animator Senior Member

fenders!

they tend to eat up a lot of the gain/compression in the peramp, which is why i think they are great for stacks.

4. mprvise

mprvise Member