Today's Stupid Deal of the Day - not too shabby

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Mike9, Apr 25, 2008.

1. Mike9

Mike9 Supporting Member

With a little work and a few upgrades this could be a real work horse - And it's a blank canvas for the artistic tweaker.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/stupid?src=3NL7AIA&c_lid=e1

[​IMG]

Well I just received my order confirmation and looks like I'm getting a T-shirt and a Fender standard gig-bag free - now we're talkin' -

2. Drew68

Drew68 Supporting Member

A great beginner guitar. I'm really amazed at the quality of many of today's sub $300 instruments. Far superior to the plywood Hondo II boat anchors I started playing on.

3. 5E3

5E3 Member

Pretty cool for $150. :AOK

Might be a fun project guitar if you are unhappy with any of the bits.

4. Mike9

Mike9 Supporting Member

I've rebuilt many Squiers and they ended up as excellent playing and sounding guitars.

The bodies and necks are often quite good and I like the neck profile. Even the tuners are passable, but the trem, electronics and nut are a must to replace. A fret dressing, new nut, pickups, pots, switch - OK - maybe some locking tuners and it becomes a great axe.

5. Tone_Terrific

Tone_Terrific Member

There was a time, not THAT long ago when that style of guitar was a 'superstrat' and sold for 10x+.....a fret dress and good pups may have been included:D

6. RockStarNick

RockStarNick Supporting Member

If ONLY squier would just change their neck width to 1 and 11/16... I can't deal with the narrow nuts on them.

That's the only thing that's held me back from buying one as a backup guitar.

7. MuseCafeChris

MuseCafeChris Senior Member

Boy isn't that the truth.

8. Drew68

Drew68 Supporting Member

Actually, it makes good business sense. Look at Squier's demographics. They are marketed towards young teenagers and preteens who are just starting out.