Tokai ES145

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by MikeT, Oct 4, 2008.

1. MikeT

MikeT Member

Anyone played one of these: [​IMG]ES145?
    How close is this to the real deal? Any modifications necessary?
    Seem like a good deal to me (must resist, must resist...)

2. steven.rogers

steven.rogers Member

I've never played one but I've always heard great things around here about the Tokai 335s. If I had the cash I would probably buy one myself.

3. 56_Special

56_Special Member

I have no experience with that particular model, but I love Tokai's and I think that they are on a par with the best of the best. My LS320 is a higher quality guitar than any Historic in production (spec's wise) and it's construction and playability are flawless. That ES145 looks like a steal.

4. MikeT

MikeT Member

Still tempted, but the nut seems rather narrow...
    Anyone can comment on overall quality compared to Eastman semi-hollows?

Thanks!
    (Can't afford a Sadowsky semihollow...)

5. hank

hank Member

The Eastman's are really nice but not exactly a 335 style in construction.

I have a 2005 Tokai ES-120 blonde/flamed that's spectacular w/ WCR's in it. For me, the Tokais are more Gibson-like.

btw, Tokai model numbers change as pricing changes. My ES-120 is now an ES-175 I believe.

6. HRydarcik

HRydarcik Member

I have a Tokai ES-120 that I bought from Hisashi, the same dealer in the auction you posted. It's a fantastic guitar. In the past 8 years I've owned a 1997 Gibson ES 335 and a 2000 Heritage 535 and was greatly disappointed with both of them...the Tokai beats them in every category....that's how good they are. The only mod I made to mine wasa Gibson Historic trussrod cover and RS guitarworks aged pickup covers...I aged the bridge and tailpiece myself using vinegar.

You can't go wrong with that Tokai and Hisashi is an excellent dealer.

7. Andre357

Andre357 Member