• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Tone Bender Mk 1: recorded examples?

Skreddy

Silver Supporting Member
I know "Spiders from Mars" yeah, but dude always used a cocked wah along with his Tone Bender.

Any known, for sure, recorded examples of the Mk 1 that I can listen to? Not clones, original units please.

I have been playing with that circuit for like 6 months on and off and have solved its bias issues and changed the attack control to operate a different parameter in order to get much better range and usability, no gating, no oscillation, quiet enough. But how fuzzy should it get? How twangy should it be?

For me, this fuzz is one of those things where it sounds fuzzy and twangy at the same time on the bridge pickup, like really aggressive, almost like an amp on the verge of meltdown rather than a fuzz, and can do a nice woman tone fuzz on the neck pickup.

But what should it sound like, really? I want to know if I should bother comparing my version to the real thing (it's significantly different electronically with the change to the attack control and the superior transistor biasing) or if I should just pursue making it sound good as its own thing.

Like one sound that's always inspired me with regard to the development of this thing is the intro riff to "What is Life" by George Harrison. But I don't know if that's a Mk 1. I don't know. And lots of vintage-style fuzz tones from Bad Finger kind of strike me as TB Mk1.

So help a brotha out: songs clips descriptions etc...

krz4fx

When too many really is TOO many...
Gold Supporting Member
Don't know if this is what your looking for, but here it is:

newguru

Here's a few:

Paul McCartney playing guitar on "Think for Yourself" on the Beatles Rubber Soul.

Jeff Beck playing guitar on "Heart Full of Soul" with the Yardbirds.

Skreddy

Silver Supporting Member
Right on. Thank you guys!