Tonelab LE as a pedalboard?

Average Joe

Hi, I'm Average Joe and I'm a noob when it comes to multieffects and simulators, and I need some advice.

I need a secondary board for a band I've joined. Rather than building a new pedal board pedal by pedal I've considered going with some sort of multieffect. I don't really need the amp aimulations, although I imagine they could be useful in a pinch.

There is a Tonelab LE for sale locally. A couple of questions

How does it work as an effects board only in front of an amp?
Are the distortion sounds any good?
Is it fairly user friendly?
Is it dependable/rugged?

Any pitfalls I should be aware of? Software updates etc?

Yeah, these may be stupid questions. I'm sorry if they are

Berlin Chris

I have an LE lying around at home. Just tried exactly what you want to do some time ago. Guitar into Tonelab LE into computer with guitar software (S-Gear). See below..... all IMHO.

How does it work as an effects board only in front of an amp?
- so/so. Compressor good, Delays good, reverb ok, mod-efx halfway acceptable, some good

Are the distortion sounds any good?
- I hated them. The boost was ok, the fuzz and distortion were terrible, again IMHO.

Is it fairly user friendly?
- yes, super easy to program
- stombox-mode gives you instant access to the different food groups
- vol/expression-pedal works good

Is it dependable/rugged?
- I have one switch that is getting a little funky. Other than that is really an ok piece of gear.

Any pitfalls I should be aware of? Software updates etc?
- overall I find the sound to be too "digital" for the lack of a better word.

OTOH, I see these units going used for about 100 Euro/Dollar. This is really cheap for what an LE can do and well worth the price. They used to be about 400 new.

jayman