Too Many Amps, Need Suggestions

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by craigmccle, Dec 18, 2009.

1. craigmccle

craigmccle Member

I've been on an amp hunt for several months now and simply keep getting discouraged because of the number out there, but my inability to try and play them all next to each other. I think I'll just ask for some advice. I know that this may lead to more frustration as more people will show me even more options, but I'll try anyway.

I'm a guitarist working in Nashville, playing for a few smaller Christian artists. Generally what that means is that I'm playing more rhythmic delay stuff than full on solos as Christian music has become incredibly U2 influenced over the last few years.

I've had a Dr Z Stangray and Maz 18. I sold the Stangray and still have the 18. Neither one of them are quite what I'm looking for.

The Maz is just a little lackluster (though I have heard others that sound a little better than mine, maybe I should have gone non reverb). The Stangray was great clean, but I found that I didn't love how it broke up or responded to pedals. I guess I could say the same for the Maz.

I talked to Fred at /13 the other day and got his suggestions because a lot of people in town have told me to go with a /13. The only dealer here only has one model in stock and I don't think it's for me.

Fred explained to me a lot about amp design and such and I now understand why I've loved El84 amps. The dynamic response of just how hard I strum and things like that control the gain far better than on other amps. I love the chime and swirl of El84s, so Fred recommended the RSA 31.

My question is, is the RSA going to be too loud (I play mostly churches and the sort, my Maz is generally fine in a 1x12 format the Stangray was pushing it most of the time, especially with 2x12)? Is this a good amp for me? I've thought about going with the smaller version with the master volume. Anyone played one of these.