TopTone DRIVEGATE DG-2 review ( Gilmour )

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Kit Rae, Nov 17, 2010.

1. Kit Rae

Kit Rae Member

[​IMG]
    I have been playing the TopTone DG-2 for a few months now, so I thought I would post a review and a few clips. For anyone who does not know, TopTone is a small pedal maker out of Brazil, and their current line of pedals are each based on the high end Pete Cornish pedals. TopTone's first claim to fame was the Drivegate DG-1, which was based on the Cornish P-2, which itself was based on a Big Muff, tuned for bright mids and an improved tone control. The DG-2 that I am reviewing here is based on the Cornish G-2, which is another spin on the Big Muff, with that same tone control, but this one sounds nothing like a Big Muff and more like the spawn of a cranked Marshall and an LM308 Rat. This pedal is used by Lou Reed and David Gilmour. As a Gilmour fan and Big Muff addict I had to try one.

The DG-2 is one of the most unique takes on a Big Muff I have ever heard. It has none of the typical characteristics of a Big Muff tone - scooped mids, super sustain, and that octave thing just under the distortion. This is more like a Germanium overdrive. Creamy Marshall amp distortion, ProCo Rat grit, with a bit of warm fuzz harmonics on top. I think of this as a Rat killer. The mids are bright and clear, making it equally good for leads or rhythm. Nice crunch to the tone. This sounds great through my Reeves/Hiwatt, but I get great tones out of it with my Fender Twin and Mesa Express too. Sounds best with a clean amp, like most Muffs, but it is more versatile on a dirty amp than a typical Big Muff.

I also have a Cornish G-2, which has been on my board for about a year. Compared to the real G-2, this is practically the same sound. Here are a few clips. Strat into Reeves Custom 50 (Hiwatt) with a bit of TC nova delay.

Lead Tones - Shine on You Crazy Diamond