Touch sensitive? Oh yeah...

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by JimmyR, Feb 8, 2008.

1. JimmyR

JimmyR Member

You'll have to forgive me - I'm pretty pumped right now. I've been modding the heck out of my Bad Cat Hotcat for a few months now. I have always loved the clean channel but felt that the dirt channel was too compressed. So being the sort that can't leave enough alone, I've benn in there changing stuff around.

Well I finally have it where I always wanted it. The clean channel is same as always, but now the dirt channel is a cross between a DC30 first channel and a Bad Cat Two-tone pedal. So I no longer have an "edge" or "level" knob on there. I have used the second tube as a DC30 style V1 instead of a clipping tube. The tone stack remains untouched and the master vol works just on the dirt channel as always. But now I have the most amazing touch responsive, fat, clear, punchy, toneful dirty channel I have ever heard. It sounds a lot like the first channel on a Wildcat but fuller.

With my 335 I can play softly and get piano-like clarity from the bass strings, then just dig in a bit and get plexi-like snarl from the trebles. It's pretty much my ideal amp. There's enough gain on tap to get into ACDC territory or a bit further and that's enough for me. Before I was getting too much treble or too much bass or the tone was a bit too grainy - now it's perfect.

So I just had to vent somewhere! If anyone is mad enough to want to mod an expensive Bad Cat amp I can draw up a schematic of what I've done if you like! Sometimes I feel like I'm nuts to mod an amp like this but right now I'm glad I did. If you want to know any more just ask.

2. conundrum

conundrum Member

Did you leave the first stage grid-leak biased?

3. David Robrecht

David Robrecht Blue Fire Silver Supporting Member

I'd like to see the schematic if you want to spend the time to draw it.
    Dave

4. JimmyR

JimmyR Member