Trackball or controller surface?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by BluesForDan, Dec 30, 2017.

1. BluesForDan

BluesForDan Supporting Member

I'm looking to up my game at tracking, mixing and mastering. One thing I know is using a mouse is not going to work for me. I currently have OSX 10.12.6, GarageBand 10.1.3 and Safari 11.0.2. I'm using a Behringer UMC404HD via USB. I have no experience using a controller surface and want to know what to look for i.e. wired vs wireless, desirable features etc.

I'd like to get a better interface. While I am not a pro, I can definitely tell there are limitations for this unit I'm using, particularly in the noise. If I'm not using a mic, I don't want any hiss. I do not have thunderbolt on either of my Macs.

Would going with higher level of hardware be wasted if I stick with GarageBand? Should I consider going with Logic or Reaper?

I want to be able to do multi voice compositions with many layers, automations, mixing largely via headphones due to lack of a proper listening room. I know there will always be limitations but I'm trying to figure out how to maximize my options. i don't want to just throw money willy nilly.

It could even be something as simple as using a trackball instead of a mouse, it doesn't have to be expensive so long as it is effective.

2. anuj

anuj Member

Magic Trackpad?

micycle likes this.
  3. Papanate

Papanate Gold Supporting Member

Garageband has a Gate feature on each channel - use it.

Are you unhappy with the sound you are currently getting? Or are you just
    unhappy that it says Behringer? That said - a higher grade convertor will benefit
    Garageband, Logic and Reaper. And currently if you are comfortable in Garageband
    and can get the work you want to get done - there is no reason to switch IMO.

Garageband allows automation of volume, panning and effects.

I don't know what this is supposed to mean. Still I use Logic, SoundForge and some