Transitioning from originals to covers and sit in gigs advice

scott757

I've been playing guitar for 20 years. For most of that I've been playing in punk/indie rock bands. Almost all originals. Over the past 2 years I've really fallen in love with playing and want to branch out to be able to play in cover bands and sit in with sing song writers. Some questions off the top of my head:
  1. How do you remember all the songs when playing for 3 hours a night (is it OK to have an iPad mini on stage with just some reminders about Song 1 version D G C ...etc)?
  2. I have limited amount of time each day to practice, what is the most beneficial thing to study?
  3. How often do cover bands generally practice?
  4. What are some other things I can do to stand out as a reliable person to call when people need a fill in guitarist for a gig?

FwLineberry

I've been playing guitar for 20 years. For most of that I've been playing in punk/indie rock bands. Almost all originals. Over the past 2 years I've really fallen in love with playing and want to branch out to be able to play in cover bands and sit in with sing song writers. Some questions off the top of my head:
  1. How do you remember all the songs when playing for 3 hours a night (is it OK to have an iPad mini on stage with just some reminders about Song 1 version D G C ...etc)?
  2. I have limited amount of time each day to practice, what is the most beneficial thing to study?
  3. How often do cover bands generally practice?
  4. What are some other things I can do to stand out as a reliable person to call when people need a fill in guitarist for a gig?

I can only speak from my own experience, of course.