Tried a Bogner Shiva - what pedal to recreate those tones?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by valcotone, Dec 31, 2005.

1. valcotone

valcotone Supporting Member

I tried a Bogner Shiva combo a little while ago and really liked some of the medium drive tones. I wouldn't use that tone very often, but it's kind of haunting me. It seemed to have a really smooth and tight OD tones, really the opposite of the tweed-inspired amps I usually play with.

For those who own this amp, what OD pedal might come close to the drive tones?

Thanks!

2. valcotone

valcotone Supporting Member

3. avenerjimmie

avenerjimmie Member

Man. I have no idea. I tried to find out the exact same thing, but I wound up buying one. It's my only amp (excluding a couple of loaners: JCM-800 and JMP combo), but it does everything I want it to.

A few things you could maybe try to get close:

-Barber Direct Drive
    -Marshal Guv'nor
    -Analogic Gain Fxxker II (I have no experience with that, but it's been related to Bogner tone on this board, though in the Uberschall sense...so I don't know)
    -Emma Reezafratzitz
    -Menatone Working Man's Blue/Blue Collar (I own the Blue Collar, and it can come pretty darn close to the medium tones I get from the Shiva. Not perfect, but close. That's the one I'm the most comfortable recommending you try...though it could very well sound like a Shiva because it's hitting a Shiva.)

Hope that's of some help at all. My drive pedal experience is far from extensive, but from what I've heard from everyone I talked to online, it's just hard to get that tone nailed in a pedal for some reason.

4. prsflame

prsflame Member