Tube Amps and Ear Fatigue?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Jchrisf, Apr 19, 2016.

1. Jchrisf

Jchrisf Member

Are tube amps good on the ears at lower volumes? I am new to them. I just got a Laney IRT Studio and I find that my ears don't fatigue when practicing/playing like every other amp (SS, Modeler, Software) I have tried. Just playing through my computer and Rokit 5 monitors fatigues my ears at the same volume as does my Peavey Vypyr and every other non tube amp I have tried.

2. halcyon

halcyon Supporting Member

I would think that it depends on the specific amp, how you have it EQ'd, and to what frequencies your ears are sensitive.

riffmeister and MrLahey like this.
  3. FFTT

FFTT Member

If you can work/practice without using headphones, your hearing will be safer at somewhat reasonable volumes.

Cheap speakers can be irritating and harsh especially if you push mids.

If you are working hours on end, be sure to give yourself silence breaks.

Yard equipment, fire arms, power and air tools can all take their toll too.

If you have any reason to suspect a change in your hearing, definitely see a musician qualified audiologist.

Timbre Wolf likes this.
  4. Stratonator

Stratonator Member

RockIt speakers could be hyping certain frequencies in the midrange that could trigger ear fatigue, same as your Peavey.

Lots of gear gets props at first for sounding punchy or in-your-face but 20 minutes of that sound and ear fatigue starts which isn't so great.

5. JB6464

JB6464 Member

I think the speakers used with certain tube amps is what causes ear fatique the most .
    A good tube amp can be hacked real quick with the wrong speakers .

6. tiktok

tiktok Supporting Member

dB and Hz are independent of what produces them.

7. halcyon

halcyon Supporting Member

But the Vypyr Hz the most, apparently.

PBGas likes this.
  8. tele_jas

tele_jas Member