Tweed vs Blacface - Difference?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by gmpckd, Sep 15, 2005.

1. gmpckd

gmpckd Guest

Howdy,

I've been playing for over 35 years. Most of the amps I've had include MUSIC MAN's (in the sventies and early eighties). since then I have been using a MESA Mark-III simul class, a CARR Rambler and a Victoria 3x10 EL84 VICTORILUX. I never really got to play FENDER amps that much.

SO - I'd really love to learn more about the differenc between what many call a BLACK FACE sound and a TWEED sound. I read about this so much that I feel like a dinosaur or something not understanding what it means. Can anyone explain the rems better along with the charachteristics as well as some examples of current amps or artist the evoke these two sounds.

Thanks
    Gene

2. John55

John55 Member

Fender tweed is much better overdrive tone IMO. It has much more of an organic sound, very rich and full even when clean. BF is tighter with scooped mids and the OD is more harsh. Think ZZ Top's La Grange for tweed tone at it's finest, as well as most of Clapton's tone for the past 15yrs, or Keith Richards. Most anything SRV for BF tone.

3. trisonic

trisonic Member

I agree with J55.
    I never liked BF at all for a long time (I'm English and they weren't ubiqitious over there) - however when they are serviced properly they sound great, otherwise a little shrill and lacking midrange compared to the Tweed. You can get a simulcra of Tweed by switching the tone stack out of a BF.

Best, Pete.

4. Robboman

Robboman Member

The BF period represents the next step in Fenders amp evolution when the design goal was to provide as much clean volume as possible - they weren't interested in creating overdrive or distortion of any kind - those were just side effects. As such, the BF amps in general have more clean headroom and a somewhat 'harder' attack and tone.

David Garner likes this.
  5. leofenderbender

leofenderbender Supporting Member

My opinion of the two: