Twin Reverb Mods

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by sandman, Jan 17, 2006.

1. sandman

sandman Member

Took my amp to a tech for retubing-rebiasing and he showed me some mods for my Twin on the fly.

I have zero knowledge on this but he tweaked it to sound Vox-like,Tweed-like and Marshall-like with (to my ears) cool results.He used Normal channel for this and he can rewire the bright switch to be the selector for two sounds I choose(Vox,Tweed).

He just did some quick soldering job and added a little wire...Do you have a clue what did he do?

I wouldn't argue about how close it'll sound to Vox or Tweed but I don't use the Normal channel at all and adding some different sounds for little cash seems cool to me.

Mods are reversible.

I'll post the schematics as soon as I get 'em.

Gimme some opinions please...

2. darkbluemurder

darkbluemurder Member

Sandman,

Did your tech already perform the mod or did he show you the mod on a different amp?

Does the amp still have the tone controls? What happens sonically when you engage the bright switch of the modded channel?

For a tweed mod (a tweed bassman mod) I could assume that he rearranged the gain structure. The normal Twin structure is 1st gain stage, tone stack, volume, 2nd gain stage, Reverb, phase inverter etc. The Tweed structure would be 1st gain stage, volume, 2nd gain stage, tone stack, phase inverter.
    The Vox mod could use the same architecture as the Tweed but the value of the treble cap should be changed from 270pf/250pf to 50pf and of the treble pot from 250kA to 1MA. The bass and mid pots can probably stay as they are. If the tech used the 50pf cap and the bright switch to add a 220pf cap in parallel he may approximate both Vox and Tweed sounds. Of course it will never sound the same since the plate and cathode resistor values are way different, and there is no cathode follower before the tone stack.