Two Tone Sparkle Strat finish

RvChevron

Who can do a finish like this on a traditional strat body (with bigger rounder body edge radius than the Grosh body in the photo)?

2rcchp.jpg

In these two colour combo:

Top:
gf484_lg1.jpg

Side and back:

sz4098092_lg1.jpg

gkoelling

That'll cost a few dollars!

I have no experience with him but every time a high-end, custom paint question comes up, Mark Jenny is mentioned.

Good luck in your search and please post pics when you get it done. That's a nice color combo.

RvChevron

That'll cost a few dollars!

I have no experience with him but every time a high-end, custom paint question comes up, Mark Jenny is mentioned.

Good luck in your search and please post pics when you get it done. That's a nice color combo.

Yep. I got a quote for $600. Only if the body has sharp edge like the Grosh and not a strat body.

Still looking!

gkoelling

I think the thickness of the finish depends a little on the size of the flake.

It takes a lot more clear to even out a big metal flake finish.

Jim Soloway

Just my opinion, but I think with a rounded edge, the two tone you want may not work. Where (and how) would you do the transition from the sparkle top to the non-sparkle back and sides without a sharpe edge to define an abrupt end of the top surface?

RvChevron

Just my opinion, but I think with a rounded edge, the two tone you want may not work. Where (and how) would you do the transition from the sparkle top to the non-sparkle back and sides without a sharpe edge to define an abrupt end of the top surface?

Yeah, I've talked to two finishers and both said the same thing you do.

I guess I'll need to order a body with proper sharp edge.

Jim Soloway

Yeah, I've talked to two finishers and both said the same thing you do.

I guess I'll need to order a body with proper sharp edge.