Tyler Question

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by GM1, Aug 3, 2006.

1. GM1

GM1 Member

I have been considering a Tyler as my next Strat style guitar. I am also considering a departure, which is a humbucking pup in the bridge instead of the traditional three single coil set up which is what all of my guitars have. My question, every time I have played a Strat set up with a humbucker and two singles, the balance of the pups is quite different. The bridge is always considerably louder than the middle or the front and generally when I set my amp for a good bridge tone, the middle and neck suffer. My experience is limited with humbucking pups in general. I was hoping to get some comments and advice on how well Tyler Strats with the humbucking/single/single are balanced.

2. JPenn

JPenn Member

They are well balanced. The Trembucker/JB Tyler uses is a very balanced pup. I have no experience with other JB's, I have read on posting boards most people feel the Tyler Trembucker is an underwound JB.

One thing I am going to change on my guitar is the wiring. The tone controls work with the singles, but not the bridge. I like backing the tone off for a smoother bridge tone on certain songs.

EDIT: I just noticed where you are located. I would call Tyler and see if it was OK to drop by their shop since you're so close.

3. DWB1960

DWB1960 Senior Member

I have a Landau Classic that came stock with 2 JTV singles and a "special" Landau Humbucker (Duncan). The controls were normal strat like - no tone control for the bucker.

I ended up slapping in 2 Suhr V60LPs and a Suhr DSV bucker instead. I also changed the controls so that 1 tone pot works for all 3 pups and the other is a blend pot for the neck and bridge. This is much more versatile IMO.

Pickups aside, the Tyler is an incredible player. Very resonant and hands down BEST feeling strat neck I've played.

4. Berlin Chris

Berlin Chris Member